Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 65

Thread: Change Start Date / Year

  1. #1
    Join Date
    15-10-12
    Location
    Grantham
    Posts
    370
    vCash
    0

    Change Start Date / Year

    As everyone probably knows the 3.9.68 patch was also a data update for the 2002-03 season as there was a 2 year gap between 01-02 and Championship Manager 4. As this is the case I wanted to start in the year 2002, but when I use Flex2 or Tapani it changes everyones DOB so for instance Ashley Cole is born in 1981 instead of 1980 and so on. Now, I know in the past I had the game starting in 2002 but without the players being a year younger.

    Any ideas how I can achieve this? Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    03-03-12
    Posts
    3,230
    vCash
    795
    Download a tapani patch mate

  3. #3
    Join Date
    03-03-12
    Posts
    3,230
    vCash
    795
    You can set the start year on there and DOB's remain the same

  4. #4
    Join Date
    03-03-12
    Posts
    2,577
    vCash
    5200
    Or use this to change the years by 1 http://www.champman0102.co.uk/downlo...?do=file&id=92

    and then use flex to change the year in the game.

    This is better for those who don't want player develpement affected or other benefits of Tap patches & simply want the game the way it was intended but with year changed.





  5. #5
    Join Date
    15-10-12
    Location
    Grantham
    Posts
    370
    vCash
    0
    I don't know where I was going wrong before. Maybe because I used to Year Start tool on Flex? Anyway, thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    15-10-12
    Location
    Grantham
    Posts
    370
    vCash
    0
    Although it does screw up player and competition history :-(

  7. #7
    Join Date
    15-10-12
    Location
    Grantham
    Posts
    370
    vCash
    0
    I've gone with the option of using Flex2 Year Start tool and CMStaff as this will allow me to add young players missing in the game with accurate DOBs. You know the issue, where you add a players and because he was born after X (some time in 1987) the game throws a mardy and has him being born in 1980.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    20-04-13
    Location
    Ingerland
    Posts
    80
    vCash
    500

    Is it possible to have the default start year but with certain patch features?

    Is it possible to get your 7 subs and loans between top flight clubs etc but starting in the default year? I'm working on updating the original .68 database but to be honest, I don't really want to be playing in 2010 when I'm actually playing the game as though it were a decade earlier...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    15-12-11
    Location
    Your Mother
    Posts
    25,331
    vCash
    4790000
    Most of Flex 2 or JL Patch allows the changes but on a individual basis. Like you can select what changes to make instead of just applying whatever the patch does.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    20-04-13
    Location
    Ingerland
    Posts
    80
    vCash
    500
    Guess I'll have to take this to the Flex/JL Patch thread then cause I'm having no luck with the JL patch. Got as far as being able to pick/choose the options no problem. Left the year as it was at 2001 and selected the majority of the others but now the game crashes the instant I run the exe

  11. #11
    Join Date
    15-12-11
    Location
    Your Mother
    Posts
    25,331
    vCash
    4790000
    What choices in the JL Patch do you want? You could test leaving out a few.

    Then use Flex 2 to change the player restrictions and subs

  12. #12
    Join Date
    20-04-13
    Location
    Ingerland
    Posts
    80
    vCash
    500
    These are the options I was looking at:


    Not a fan of coloured attributes, not really sure what the beef is about the non-protected contracts (why is that generally considered an issue by people?), and there's nothing more annoying than having someone on your shortlist and then finding out they've moved without ever knowing someone else had even bid for him so not a fan of the hiding private bids things but yeah, that's about it really. (not sure what the 5 star system does, is it of any use?)

    Guessing I'll have to get my head around this Flex 2 thing then. How unkind is it on complete newbies...?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    15-12-11
    Location
    Your Mother
    Posts
    25,331
    vCash
    4790000
    You've got nearly it all there so wouldn't bother with flex just yet

    I'd recommend unticking the last one, 'Remove CD', 'Disable Splash' and see how that goes

  14. #14
    Join Date
    20-04-13
    Location
    Ingerland
    Posts
    80
    vCash
    500
    I'll give it a whirl. I've uninstalled and reinstalled Champ-Man more times than I've played it now

    I had the last one ticked as I was planning on renaming most of the competitions at some point...

  15. #15
    Join Date
    15-12-11
    Location
    Your Mother
    Posts
    25,331
    vCash
    4790000
    just copy cm0102.exe into a different folder and copy it back into the Championship Manager 01-02 folder if something doesn't work, save you a lot of time

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to Dermotron For This Useful Post:

    Jez

  17. #16
    Join Date
    20-04-13
    Location
    Ingerland
    Posts
    80
    vCash
    500
    Well, what do you know, it works. Cheers mate. Now just gotta hope that JL can help me out with my player positions issue!

  18. #17
    Join Date
    15-12-11
    Location
    Your Mother
    Posts
    25,331
    vCash
    4790000
    Was thinking about that. Highly unlikely it would work. The players would need to exported, D.O.B's changed and the matched exactly without any club reference. There would be huge amounts that don't match correctly (name changes, accents, ` used instead of ' etc.. Could be a lot of work without much benefit. Like except for yourself or others creating old databases there wouldn't a huge demand for such a tool. And as far as I know one of the things JL couldn't solve with the import/export tool was the player positions as it was either 20 or 0.

    Hopefully he can create something, just giving you a heads-up not to be too expectant

  19. #18
    Join Date
    20-04-13
    Location
    Ingerland
    Posts
    80
    vCash
    500
    Was never too expectant in the first place

  20. #19
    Join Date
    02-04-12
    Posts
    623
    vCash
    500

    Start Year

    With Tapani's 2.19 I changed the starting year to 2014. It appears to be working - one season down and no errors what so ever. If it doesn't work, when should the errors begin to appear..?

  21. #20
    Join Date
    16-12-11
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    12,093
    vCash
    1739
    I'm not sure anyone said it wouldn't work in 2014. It should work just fine.

  22. #21
    Join Date
    02-04-12
    Posts
    623
    vCash
    500
    Aha. Then why doesn't it work in 2011-2013..?

  23. #22
    Join Date
    04-03-12
    Location
    Serbia,Belgrade,Zemun
    Posts
    933
    vCash
    900
    euro/world quals...

    Quote Originally Posted by JLa View Post
    Aha. Then why doesn't it work in 2011-2013..?

  24. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to djole2mcloud For This Useful Post:


  25. #23
    Join Date
    20-11-13
    Posts
    1
    vCash
    500
    Aha! I just thinking of starting a thread to see if anyone has successfully started a game in July 2013.. I might just try 2014 as well!

  26. #24
    Join Date
    15-12-13
    Posts
    46
    vCash
    500

    How to make a backdate work

    Is there any possibility to make a backdate work?

    When I change the start year with the Tapani Patch 2.19 to a year previous 2001 (I tested every year of the nineties), the game always crashes when the final draw for the World Cup is made, as there are no teams qualified. When you click on the World Cup Quals, you see that the draw will be made in February 2004 (even when you're game is in 1992). Strangely enough, this is not the case for all the other international tournaments, where the dates are adjusted (e.g. draw for Euroship Quals will be made on February 4th 1994) and they run smoothly.

    Is it possible to solve this World Cup problem and for example start a game in 1992 with World Cup Quals draws already made (and also made next time in 1996 en 2000)? I did some testing with games starting in 1992 or 1994 and they run smoothly untill the world cup draw, it is really the only thing that prevents a backdate game. Any solutions? Thanks a lot!

  27. #25
    Join Date
    03-03-12
    Posts
    2,577
    vCash
    5200
    It depends what leagues you include, some work fine with any year selected.

    You should be able to set to year 2000 for any league.

    Scotland you can't select year 1999 due to league reconstruction which the makers of the game didn't remove so if you select year 98 or 99 the SPL has 10 teams then tries to merge to 12.

    From memory there are issues with France and Argentina also.





Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •