PDA

View Full Version : Using Develpoment/Benchmark Mode



Dermotron
08-05-15, 11:59 AM
I have the databases from the Tactic Challenges somewhere so I'll post a screenshot of the line you need to edit in bench.bat to change the number of instances.

Install Tapani 2.19 or 2.20 patch and check the Development/Benchmark Mode checkbox

Add eval.bat and bench.bat to the Championship Manager 01-02 folder (found here (http://www.champman0102.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1434&p=25621#post25621))

Create a new save game (minimum database works best)

Open bench.bat in notepad

Change the line 'set nof_threads=%NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS%' to the number of instances you want to run concurrently.

start /b cm0102.exe -load 000.sav to name of the save game. In the case below it is 001_Dermo.sav

http://i898.photobucket.com/albums/ac186/Lowskys/Bench%20bat_zpsxyr9fzc7.jpg (http://s898.photobucket.com/user/Lowskys/media/Bench%20bat_zpsxyr9fzc7.jpg.html)


When it's up and running the above should produce this:

http://i898.photobucket.com/albums/ac186/Lowskys/5%20instances_zpstfbggair.jpg (http://s898.photobucket.com/user/Lowskys/media/5%20instances_zpstfbggair.jpg.html)

(even though the instances will stack on top of each other, not spread out like the image)

Dermotron
08-05-15, 10:38 PM
Open bench.bat in notepad

Pretty sure you change the 'set nof_threads=2' to change the amount of instances

change the 001.sav to the name of the save game you are using for the testing

http://i898.photobucket.com/albums/ac186/Lowskys/benchbat_zpsp32excki.jpg (http://s898.photobucket.com/user/Lowskys/media/benchbat_zpsp32excki.jpg.html)

Easy Rider
09-05-15, 05:15 PM
That pretty much looks greek to me but i'll give it a whirl

samsami
10-05-15, 03:04 PM
Open bench.bat in notepad

Pretty sure you change the 'set nof_threads=2' to change the amount of instances

change the 001.sav to the name of the save game you are using for the testing

http://i898.photobucket.com/albums/ac186/Lowskys/benchbat_zpsp32excki.jpg (http://s898.photobucket.com/user/Lowskys/media/benchbat_zpsp32excki.jpg.html)

Where can I find bench.bat? Is that all you need to run multiple test seasons?

Dermotron
11-05-15, 08:39 AM
Install any 2.19 or 2.20 Tapani patch and check the Development/Benchmark Mode checkbox and it will be in your Championship Manager folder after the patch has been installed

samsami
11-05-15, 11:12 AM
Install any 2.19 or 2.20 Tapani patch and check the Development/Benchmark Mode checkbox and it will be in your data folder after the patch has been installed

That did not work. Nothing there. I am sure I downloaded the file from the site a while back, though.

Dermotron
11-05-15, 11:22 AM
Indeed, have a read of the OP for the 2.19 thread, there are 2 files that need downloading - http://www.champman0102.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1434

samsami
11-05-15, 12:26 PM
Indeed, have a read of the OP for the 2.19 thread, there are 2 files that need downloading - http://www.champman0102.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1434

I downloaded the two files. Benchmark start one instance of cm0102 after another and never seems to stop opening new ones :)
There's an error message that the command SLEEP is not recognised with each new instance.
In the end I restarted my computer because it got into an endless loop.

samsami
11-05-15, 12:30 PM
For what it is worth I'd love to get involved with this.

Have you been able to successfully use bench.bat?

Jesus
11-05-15, 12:33 PM
I have in the past using the database which Tapani put together (think it was in the Greek league and had a load of stuff stripped back so it was lightening quick)

Jesus
11-05-15, 12:34 PM
I have in the past using the database which Tapani put together (think it was in the Greek league and had a load of stuff stripped back so it was lightening quick)
To add to this, I've used the bench.bat to run instances outside of that save game/database that Tapani put together. I tactic tested a few of my own creations using it.

samsami
11-05-15, 12:37 PM
I have in the past using the database which Tapani put together (think it was in the Greek league and had a load of stuff stripped back so it was lightening quick)

I can test one season at a time very quickly using cmpatcher-2.20.1 and setting it at maximum speed provided the save-file has been created with a minimal database and some other options disabled.

I can not test multiple seasons as bench.bat puts my computer in a loop and gives error messages as well.

I don't mind helping out testing NWW tactics, though, even if it's a season at a time.

samsami
11-05-15, 07:55 PM
Nice to see that you also have the drive to pull this off :rockon:
Already downloaded the two .bat files and i'm testing them as we speak. I hope I don't get pulled into that loop.

Keep me posted. I triŽd the bench.bat several times and it loads endlessly, saying "SLEEP is not recognised as an internal or external command...." and than keeps trying and loading. Even CTR-ALT-DEL won't work!

This is the text of the batch file:

@echo off
set nof_threads=2
for /L %%i in (0,1,%nof_threads%) do mkdir dup%%i
set CM3_PREFS=%CD%
set i=0
:run_next
set CM3_TEMP=%CD%\dup%i%
start /b cm0102.exe -load feyenoord.sav
sleep 3
set /a 1+=1
if %i% LSS %nof_threads% goto run_next

But I forget that you can't read this because your computer is in a loop now of course :)

samsami
11-05-15, 07:57 PM
To add to this, I've used the bench.bat to run instances outside of that save game/database that Tapani put together. I tactic tested a few of my own creations using it.

See my comment about the batch file, above.

Dermotron
11-05-15, 08:33 PM
Did you add eval.bat to the CM folder too?

I've updated the OP to have a sort of guide in it (even though it's just what Tapani describes in the 2.19 thread)

samsami
12-05-15, 12:43 PM
The more the merrier :ok:



That would be great my Lord :)
And you already know how to "walk on these waters", for all I can see :ok:



Nice to see that you also have the drive to pull this off :rockon:
Already downloaded the two .bat files and i'm testing them as we speak. I hope I don't get pulled into that loop.

Any luck?

samsami
12-05-15, 12:45 PM
Already downloaded the two .bat files and i'm testing them as we speak. I hope I don't get pulled into that loop.

Any luck?

This is what bench.bat looks like as I use it and as it puts my computer in an endless loop.
It also gives an error saying that SLEEP is not recognised as internal or external command with each loop.
Is there something wrong here?

@echo off
set nof_threads=2
for /L %%i in (0,1,%nof_threads%) do mkdir dup%%i
set CM3_PREFS=%CD%
set i=0
:run_next
set CM3_TEMP=%CD%\dup%i%
start /b cm0102.exe -load feyenoord.sav
sleep 3
set /a 1+=1
if %i% LSS %nof_threads% goto run_next

rovers
12-05-15, 10:26 PM
I have downloaded the eval.bat and bench.bat and put it in my cm3 directory.
I have not installed any tapani patches, I only have 3.68 with the april2015 dataupdate.

When I launch eval.bat, it starts up cm, but only 1 instance. The default setting is 8 instances.
The seven others says: cm3 is already running on this machine.

My computer is running Win7 Home Premium.

What is limiting the number of cm3-instances I can run?

Dermotron
13-05-15, 08:44 AM
As far as I know you need to have the Tapani patch installed as there is Development/Benchmark Mode check box on the installation page of the patch. If you don't want to play the game with it applied, just uninstall it when you are finished testing.

Easy Rider
13-05-15, 09:31 AM
Any luck?

All good mate

http://i.imgur.com/gmKe818.png

Changed bench.bat to 5 instances and runs ok.
Altough I did had to make a copy of the game's folder into the desktop and run it from there to make it work. Had some denied accesses before.

samsami
13-05-15, 10:55 AM
Which line do you mean to make it 5 instances?
And what does sleep 3 mean?

@echo off
set nof_threads=2
for /L %%i in (0,1,%nof_threads%) do mkdir dup%%i
set CM3_PREFS=%CD%
set i=0
:run_next
set CM3_TEMP=%CD%\dup%i%
start /b cm0102.exe -load feyenoord.sav
sleep 3
set /a 1+=1
if %i% LSS %nof_threads% goto run_next

Dermotron
13-05-15, 11:20 AM
Moved the posts in here so the NWW thread doesn't get derailed.


Read the first post in here regarding the number of instances. Sleep refers to the delay between when each instance starts

samsami
13-05-15, 12:04 PM
Moved the posts in here so the NWW thread doesn't get derailed.
Read the first post in here regarding the number of instances. Sleep refers to the delay between when each instance starts

Thanks! And yes, it's crystal clear now and it seems to work as long as I copy the cm0102 folder with everything in it to my desktop and work from there, same as Easy Rider said he had to do.

So I'm all set now :)

ViK
16-12-16, 09:40 PM
I get a disk space error and benchmarking won't load the save at all. There is no disk space problem though?

When I close it to desktop it says I need Direct X and for my graphics to support 16-bit colour??

ViK
19-12-16, 02:38 PM
Further to my above post, I've screenied the errors that I am getting...

http://i.imgur.com/eaX3cJH.png

http://i.imgur.com/ag62V06.png

When it quits to desktop I have this message:

http://i.imgur.com/Odv9NcG.png

I should add that the game runs fine when not in bench mode.

CM_King_39
18-07-20, 02:35 AM
Hi,

I have a question with using the Dev/Benchmark mode. I had a save game with v3.9.68 & October 2019 update.
Then I applied the Tapani Patch 2.19 to make use of Benchmark mode.
When I modify & run batch.dat as per my save game, I get an error somewhere along the season (v3.9.68T Cup..cpp 373) and the game shuts down.

Upon this, I created a new game and re-tried running batch.dat for this game. Again I got an error midway through (v3.9.68T match_eng..cpp 652).

Is it nos possible to use the benchmark mode with save games and/or October 2019 update?

GFRay
18-07-20, 07:32 AM
Well since patch 2.19 was created to work with the 2013 update it makes well sense that it's not compatible with the newer updates.

We use saturn's and Nick+co's patchers now with the latest updates, but those don't have a Dev/Benchmark mode.

Alan
18-07-20, 07:52 AM
match_eng..cpp 652 is due toa team not being able to select 11 players for a match. This is not too unusual in recent updates due to squads being filled with players out on loan. It only takes a little injury crisis and you're screwed.

Not sure or the specifics of the Cup..cpp 373 error. But as you started a game unpatched then applied a patch, then got this error, it is not hugely surprising. Particularly if you have English leagues & Conference selected (and/or Welsh leagues).

If you really want to use the Benchmark option, first up I would receommend using Tapani Patch 2.21 or 2.22. And also use the original 3.9.68 data to avoid the 652 error.

CM_King_39
18-07-20, 09:22 AM
Thank you for the answers guys!

hodgy
05-11-20, 01:49 PM
Is there a specific database I can use for benchmark testing?

If not, what are the settings usually used by Tapani then the tactic leagues? I recall a Greek team but that's it at the moment.