Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 308

Thread: League / Cup Structure Queries

  1. #26

    Join Date
    16-12-11
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    11,830
    vCash
    0
    Thats v strange that it's been amended and caused no errors! Who have you had updating Greece who could of done this?

  2. #27
    Tournaments Won: 2

    Join Date
    18-12-11
    Location
    Dresden
    Posts
    7,507
    vCash
    4030
    dermo, is the new league structure happening right from the start or one season in (a la france)

  3. #28
    Tournaments Won: 11

    Join Date
    15-12-11
    Location
    Your Mother
    Posts
    31,615
    vCash
    642000
    No lads, this is in the current data updates.

    Was 16/16 in 2005 but was 14/16 by Sept 2009 DB

    And yeah Pat this is from the start as I've only checked in the Editor, not in play.


    So it seems it can be changed within the Data without corrupting or requiring a .exe to be packed each time. Would be great if someone knows how and have a cut a sorting a couple of the leagues.

  4. #29

    Join Date
    03-03-12
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    1,391
    vCash
    1900
    wow, is this for real?? we need to figure it out! testing in demand!

  5. #30
    Tournaments Won: 11

    Join Date
    15-12-11
    Location
    Your Mother
    Posts
    31,615
    vCash
    642000
    I done some testing Clay and reducing the size of a league seems ok but increasing it is not I guess due the end date of the fixtures or something.

    Also comps have criteria for the top leagues entering a cup so the game just crashes on load.

  6. #31

    Join Date
    16-12-11
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    11,830
    vCash
    0
    Can you reduce the A League in Australia then, Derm?

  7. #32

    Join Date
    04-03-12
    Location
    Serbia,Belgrade,Zemun
    Posts
    974
    vCash
    900
    changing number of clubs without editing .exe...reducing number of teams yes,but increasing i am almost 100% sure not...there a few offset that needs to be increased along with offset for number of teams (multiplying with 59)...

    Quote Originally Posted by Dermotron View Post
    I done some testing Clay and reducing the size of a league seems ok but increasing it is not I guess due the end date of the fixtures or something.

    Also comps have criteria for the top leagues entering a cup so the game just crashes on load.

  8. #33
    Tournaments Won: 11

    Join Date
    15-12-11
    Location
    Your Mother
    Posts
    31,615
    vCash
    642000
    Hadn't thought of the A-League mate but I can give it a try.

    I used one of the tools in Flex - League Organiser. You just name the league, A Lower Division (think this is used to move excess clubs to), then list the clubs in that league. After that you'll see a league have the amount of teams you listed - so incase of the A-league the Editor would say 10/10 instead of 10/13 if you only listed 10 clubs.

  9. #34

    Join Date
    16-12-11
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    11,830
    vCash
    0
    Quality. Will take a look, Cheers

  10. #35
    Tournaments Won: 11

    Join Date
    15-12-11
    Location
    Your Mother
    Posts
    31,615
    vCash
    642000
    Quote Originally Posted by djole2mcloud View Post
    changing number of clubs without editing .exe...reducing number of teams yes,but increasing i am almost 100% sure not...there a few offset that needs to be increased along with offset for number of teams (multiplying with 59)...
    Strange that it was done in the data for Greece and caused no issues. I tried reducing the Brazilian 1st Division to 20 teams and it crashed on loading, I guess something has to be done somewhere in regards to the scheduling of the games?

  11. #36

    Join Date
    04-03-12
    Location
    Serbia,Belgrade,Zemun
    Posts
    974
    vCash
    900
    long ago Pirovatis asked me to change number of teams in greece from 14 to 16...as i recall,other members trzed also increasing number of clubs in greece without success...perhaps,another case of hardcoding or something...

    Quote Originally Posted by Dermotron View Post
    Strange that it was done in the data for Greece and caused no issues. I tried reducing the Brazilian 1st Division to 20 teams and it crashed on loading, I guess something has to be done somewhere in regards to the scheduling of the games?

  12. #37
    Tournaments Won: 11

    Join Date
    15-12-11
    Location
    Your Mother
    Posts
    31,615
    vCash
    642000
    But look at my opening post mate, the 3.9.68 patch contains 16 teams in the Greek Super League. It was changed between 2005 and 2009 within the data so it would be awesome if this type of thing could be replicated. If it was just with the .exe it probably wouldn't be worth looking into. There must be a lot more that can be changed within the data than we know.

  13. #38

    Join Date
    02-03-12
    Posts
    4,853
    vCash
    1075
    maybe that can be done with a different editor?

  14. #39

    Join Date
    05-06-12
    Posts
    1,035
    vCash
    3700
    Quote Originally Posted by Dermotron View Post
    There must be a lot more that can be changed within the data than we know.
    It doesn't work like that unfortunately, the data is just that 'data'. It's not intelligent, or clever, it's just information (numbers and text) the fact that the game accepts 14 clubs is because the exe doesn't complain not because the data did something special.

  15. #40
    Tournaments Won: 11

    Join Date
    15-12-11
    Location
    Your Mother
    Posts
    31,615
    vCash
    642000
    Any how the change was made John given that it's accepted by the .exe. Would it be contained within any of the files that can be exported using the distribution wizard?

  16. #41

    Join Date
    05-06-12
    Posts
    1,035
    vCash
    3700
    I don't know what the distribution wizard is, but the changes would be in club.dat - which stores all clubs and the id number of the division they play in.

  17. #42
    Tournaments Won: 11

    Join Date
    15-12-11
    Location
    Your Mother
    Posts
    31,615
    vCash
    642000
    In the official Editor we use the Data Distribution Wizard to export the database for A. the next person to update the database or B. to export the data for a database release. That's why I was thinking it was changed within those files somewhere/somehow as we just makes changes on the 3.9.68 framework, the .exe is never passed between updaters as there's no need.

  18. #43

    Join Date
    05-06-12
    Posts
    1,035
    vCash
    3700
    If any particular data modification doesn't work with the 3.9.68 exe then the only two fixes: either undo the data change or figure out how to edit the exe to make it accept the data. The latter would mean you'd have to distribute a modified exe.

  19. #44

    Join Date
    02-03-12
    Location
    WATING FOR 10 IN A ROW
    Posts
    7,352
    vCash
    5297
    would a modified exe be the same as releasing an update with bulks changes to league restrictions?

  20. #45
    Tournaments Won: 2

    Join Date
    18-12-11
    Location
    Dresden
    Posts
    7,507
    vCash
    4030
    i dont know about bulks changes but a modified exe would mean for example that you get a 5809 error when playing your old save games.

  21. #46
    Tournaments Won: 11

    Join Date
    15-12-11
    Location
    Your Mother
    Posts
    31,615
    vCash
    642000
    Indeed, would love to know how someone changed the number of clubs in the Greek Super League without apparently changing the exe.

  22. #47
    Tournaments Won: 11

    Join Date
    15-12-11
    Location
    Your Mother
    Posts
    31,615
    vCash
    642000
    Quote Originally Posted by BeezerCeltic1967 View Post
    would a modified exe be the same as releasing an update with bulks changes to league restrictions?
    Quote Originally Posted by Patinoz View Post
    i dont know about bulks changes but a modified exe would mean for example that you get a 5809 error when playing your old save games.
    A modified exe is to be avoided at all costs

  23. #48

    Join Date
    05-06-12
    Posts
    1,035
    vCash
    3700
    Quote Originally Posted by Dermotron View Post
    Indeed, would love to know how someone changed the number of clubs in the Greek Super League without apparently changing the exe.
    I assume that for some leagues the number of clubs is important, e.g. for cups etc, but for Greece it obviously doesn't matter - so the developers didn't write any code that breaks when the 'wrong' number of clubs are in a division.

    I know the official editor won't save the data when the number of clubs is wrong, but maybe 'wrong' to the editor just means different from when the data was opened - so if you make such changes with a different editor then the official editor is happy - but that still leaves the exe.

  24. #49

    Join Date
    04-03-12
    Posts
    25
    vCash
    887
    Do the 14 teams appear in the editor or ingame?

  25. #50
    Tournaments Won: 11

    Join Date
    15-12-11
    Location
    Your Mother
    Posts
    31,615
    vCash
    642000
    Editor and in game. With JohnLocke's league organiser tool it will show 16 in the Editor but only 14 load.

    On the 3.9.68 DB its 16 in Editor and 16 in game

Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •