Thread: strikers not scoring (enough)

strikers not scoring (enough)

Hey,

I recently started playing the game again after a break.
    I'm playing the normal game, no patches or anything.

Have played a few seasons with a couple of English & Belgian clubs and the same problem keeps happening.
    Tactic: 3-1-4-2 (with a defensive midfielder and pushing left and right midfielders)

The problem i'm having is that my defensive midfielder and some of my midfielders score more than my strikers.
    Doesn't matter which strikers i buy. (the highest i've gotten is 9 goals in 17 league matches by Chris Sutton in my second season as West Ham)

I'm from Belgium so i enjoy playing Belgian teams.
    If i pick another team than Racing Genk, their strikers Dagano and Sonck score loads of goals, but if i play as Racing Genk with the above tactic, they rarely score more than 15 goals/season.

Does anyone know a solution?

Sometimes the game engine just does it to piss you off. Not much you can do but grin and bear it. It will soon resort to a flurry of red cards against you and superkeepers and injuries to key players. The more you win, the harder it tries to beat you.
    The artist formally known as The Eejit

Psmith Unattached
    In tactics that deploy two strikers (side-by-side) the strikers tend to score less than lone-striker formations.

On the other hand, with lone-striker formations the team becomes somewhat dependent on the form of the main striker.

I like to use NWW 442 formations (even though the strikers will score less) because the goals will be more evenly spread across wingers, strikers, and box-to-box midfielders.

Just my two cents.

QUICK EDIT: just to say you should check the Leicester challenge for ideas on how to get the most out of the strikers in a two striker formation.

I do agree an alone striker is much more efficient.

My Leonchik is the most goal-scoring player I've ever managed.